Class 1,2,4 & 7 MOTs in Ammanford

At Ray Thomas MOT Centre we can provide your car, van, motorbike or motorhome with an MOT inspection and certificate. 

MOT Inspections at Ray Thomas

It can be a stressful time when your MOT is due so let us take the stress out of the equation for you. 

We have experienced, fully qualified MOT testers with years of experience. 

Relax with a hot drink while we complete your MOT

You may leave your vehicles with us while we conduct the MOT or if preferred you may wait and relax with a cup of tea or coffee.

Contact Us

Do you have a vehicle needing an MOT near ammanford?

Jane Plant
Jane Plant
31 July 2023
Absolutely amazing experience of the first MoT on our camper. Carl and the lady in reception (so sorry I didn't catch your name) were so friendly and professional. Gave absolutely the best service ever! Highly recommend will definitely use again. Thank you so much
Paul Lloyd
Paul Lloyd
25 April 2023
Helpful ... would use again
David Protheroe
David Protheroe
15 April 2023
Great service, will definitely be using them again 👍
Kim Richards
Kim Richards
7 March 2023
Very helpful 👌
Dee Jordan
Dee Jordan
5 March 2023
Always great service from this place. Trustworthy garage.
Aaron Powell
Aaron Powell
3 March 2023
Great for my MOT ... Friendly atmosphere 👍

In the United Kingdom, a current MOT (Ministry of Transport) inspection is a mandatory annual test conducted to ensure that vehicles meet the minimum safety and environmental standards. The specific checks performed during an MOT inspection can vary depending on the type of vehicle being tested. However, there are several common areas that are typically examined. Here are some of the key components checked in a current MOT inspection:

  1. Vehicle Identification: The examiner verifies the vehicle’s identification number (VIN) and registration plate to ensure they meet the legal requirements.

  2. Lights and Signals: All lights, including headlights, rear lights, brake lights, indicators, fog lights, and registration plate lights, are checked for functionality, correct alignment, and condition.

  3. Steering and Suspension: The steering system is inspected for excessive wear, free movement, and the condition of components. Suspension components, including shock absorbers, springs, and mountings, are also examined.

  4. Brakes: The braking system is thoroughly inspected, including the condition and operation of brake pads, discs, drums, hoses, and cables. Brake performance and balance are tested.

  5. Tires and Wheels: Tires are checked for adequate tread depth, condition, and suitability. The wheels are examined for damage or distortion.

  6. Seat Belts and Restraints: All seat belts are inspected for proper functionality and condition. The condition of seat belt buckles, mountings, and webbing is assessed.

  7. Windscreen and Wipers: The windscreen’s condition, including any damage or chips that might obstruct the driver’s view, is checked. Wiper blades and washers are also examined for proper operation.

  8. Exhaust Emissions: Vehicle emissions are tested to ensure they are within the acceptable limits set by environmental regulations.

  9. Fuel System: The fuel system, including the fuel tank, fuel lines, and fuel cap, is inspected for leaks and security.

  10. Body and Vehicle Structure: The overall condition of the vehicle’s body, doors, mirrors, and load security is assessed.

  11. Electrical Systems: The examiner checks the battery, wiring, horn, electrical switches, and controls to ensure they are in proper working order.

  12. General Items: Various general checks are conducted, including the operation of the horn, condition of the driver’s view of the road, and the presence and condition of the exhaust system.

It’s important to note that MOT inspections may also include additional checks depending on the vehicle’s specific features, such as the operation of airbags, electronic stability control, and other safety systems.

Please bear in mind that this information is based on the knowledge available up until September 2021, and there may have been updates or changes to the MOT inspection process since then.

In the United Kingdom, most vehicles are required to undergo an MOT (Ministry of Transport) inspection annually once they reach a certain age. The frequency of MOT inspections depends on the type of vehicle. Here are the general guidelines for different vehicle types:

  1. Cars, Motorcycles, and Light Vans: These vehicles require their first MOT when they are 3 years old. After that, they need to be tested annually.

  2. Larger Vehicles: Vehicles such as goods vehicles, buses, and coaches that are over 3,500 kilograms in weight require their first MOT when they are 1 year old. Subsequently, they must be tested annually as well.

It’s worth noting that some vehicles may have different testing intervals based on their specific classification or usage. Additionally, electric vehicles (EVs) are subject to MOT inspections in the same manner as conventional vehicles.

It’s essential to comply with the MOT testing requirements and ensure that your vehicle is tested before the current MOT certificate expires. Failing to have a valid MOT certificate can result in penalties and could invalidate your vehicle insurance.